Following Christ,

Building the Community

The mission of New Hope Shelter, Inc. is to provide a sanctuary for those experiencing homelessness in Harvey, Marion, and McPherson Counties by uniting the local church into a nurturing community which restores hope through a growing relationship with Christ.


New Hope Shelter is a 501c3 non-profit funded solely through contributions from area churches, businesses, and individuals.

Twenty-six local churches team up on rotation to supply the shelter with volunteer staff and evening meals for a week at a time.

We house men, women, and families in the Monroe Cottage on the Youthville Campus. 

Our Story

Our Team

On January 1st, 2017, the Harvey County Homeless Shelter, Inc. transformed into New Hope Shelter, Inc.

New Hope Shelter, Inc. is a 501c3 non-profit Christian outreach ministry for those in Harvey, Marion, and McPherson Counties who are in need of one night emergency shelter to longer term transitional housing. New Hope fulfills the gospel by providing for the needs of our neighbor (Acts 2:45) and loving them as we love ourselves (Matthew 22:39). 

Founded as the Harvey County Homeless Shelter, Inc. in 2005, we have experienced constant transition. Through the transitions we have grown as a ministry and developed a program to bring people closer to Christ, stability, and hope. 

New Hope Shelter, Inc. is supported by two full-time, two part-time paid staff, over six-hundred volunteers, twenty-six local churches, and numerous area businesses.

The Board of Directors of New Hope Shelter is comprised of local individuals who volunteer their time and expertise to continue the mission of New Hope.

This Ministry Team, which consists of full-time staff and interested board members, works at building relationships with each resident, understanding their needs, and ministering to those physical, mental, emotional and spiritual needs so that each resident may move past the shelter and find a productive and healthy life.


To ensure the safety of our staff, volunteers, and residents, all residents are required to follow the rules and regulations of the New Hope Shelter as well as those enforced within the Newton community. New Hope does criminal history background checks on every new resident and does not provide services for registered sex offenders, registered violent offenders, or registered drug offenders. New Hope is a Zero Tolerance provider, any resident found to be using or in possession of illegal substances or alcohol is choosing not to stay at New Hope Shelter. New Hope performs random drug screens and breathalyzers not only to hold residents accountable but to ensure the safety of the residents and volunteers.

We do what we can to keep both our residents and our volunteers safe and comfortable as they work together to form better lives and a better world.

Programs we offer

New Hope Shelter offers three distinct programs:

  • Overnight Shelter-New Hope Shelter provides overnight emergency shelter year round for those who find themselves with no other options. Exclusions for admittance are those currently under the influence of drugs or alcohol, registered sex offenders, registered drug offenders, and registered violent offenders.
  • 7-Day Residency-This program is for those who enter the shelter from outside of our tri-county service area and for those needing emergency short term shelter. 
  • 90-Day Life Restoration Program-This is an intensive, Christ-centered program to restore stability and hope in people's lives. Requirements include: (Monday-Friday) nightly courses in bible study, life skills, job skills, money management/budgeting, parenting, and Christ-centered recovery, a substance abuse assessment, and mandatory savings.

Staff & Board


James Wilson

Volunteer Coordinator
Joyce Hockett


Current Board Members

                                                        Lee Penner, President                          Matthew Kelley, Vice President

Tim Buller, Treasurer                           Sue Schmidt, Secretary

Lonnie Voth                                        Evelyn Stabler                                        

Marvin Zehr                                        Victoria Adame

Denise Wilson                                     Brandon Buerge

Christy Brenneman